Coaching Staff

The Australian Sailing Team's talented and dedicated coaching line-up is led by multiple gold medal-winning coach in the 470 class, Victor Kovalenko.

The group also features Olympic silver medallist Darren Bundock, Olympic bronze medallist Michael Blackburn and former World Champions Emmett Lazich, Shane Smith, Jared West and Euan McNicol. Blackburn and Lazich are also multiple gold medal-winning coaches.

The Team has been joined in 2018 by Spanish duo, Olympic silver medallist Rafael Trujillo and gold medal-winning coach Javier Torres.

Olympic Boat Classes

470 Lead Coach/470 Men's Coach Skiffs/Multihull Lead Coach Single-Handed Lead Coach, Laser Coach
Victor Kovalenko Emmett Lazich Michael Blackburn
Nacra 17 Coach 49er Coach Laser Radial Coach
Darren Bundock Euan McNicol Jared West
470 Women's Coach  49er FX Coach Finn Coach
Shane Smith Javier Torres Rafael Trujillo